About Adva Center

The Adva Center is a leading Israeli progressive think-and-do tank that monitors social and economic developments. Adva’s studies of Israeli society present critical analyses of public policy in the areas of budgets, taxation and social services – education, health, housing, social security and welfare and transportation – including their implications for Israeli society as a whole and for each of its major social groups.

Since its establishment in 1991, Adva has been at the forefront of the struggle to advance equality, social justice and gender-responsive programming in Israel. We at Adva believe all Israelis – Jews and Arabs, women and men, high and low income persons – deserve high-quality public education, low-cost public health services, decent affordable housing, and a robust social security system. We also believe that an active citizenry is crucial to democracy.

Download Adva Center’s Annual Report

Read more

What do we do?

  • Analyzing public policy on fiscal matters, education, health, housing, and social security.
  • Proposing policy alternatives with the goal of improving the social and economic situation of all Israelis.
  • Engaging and advising decision makers on public policy matters.
  • Publishing regular reports on gender and ethnic equality, income and pay gaps, poverty and wealth, and the divide between Israel’s Start-Up Nation and its periphery.
  • Stimulating public debate through testimony at Knesset committees and other public forums, and through frequent appearances in all mass media.
  • Providing training to government agencies and civil society organizations.
  • Getting citizens involved, especially at the local level. Developing leadership, particularly among women from disadvantaged communities.
  • Disseminating information in both mainstream and social media, reaching over 100,000 people each month.
Show less

Staff

Dr. Yuval Livnat

Executive Director
yuval@adva.org

Barbara Swirski

Community Relations
barbara@adva.org

Dr. Yael Hasson

Head of Gender Research
yael@adva.org

Etty Konor-Attias

Research Coordinator
etty@adva.org

Dr. Valeria Seigelshifer

Coordinator of Gender Equality Projects
valeria@adva.org

Mira Oppenheim

Office Manager / Media Relations
mira@adva.org

Uriya Yakut Zini

Outreach and Community Action Coordinator
uriya@adva.org

Lital Biton

Creative and Graphic Artist
lital@adva.org

Board

Prof. Yossi Dahan

Chair of the Board of Directors
yossida@clb.ac.il

Gilberte Finkel

Treasurer of the Board of Directors

Prof. Ismael Abu-Saad

Member of the Board of Directors

Prof. Nitza Berkovitch

Member of the Board of Directors

Prof. Oren Iftachel

Member of the Board of Directors

Prof. Shoshana Madmoni-Gerber

Member of the Board of Directors

Advocate Ola Shtiwee

Member of the Board of Directors

Prof. Dani Filc

Member of the Board of Directors

Prof. Rivka Savaiya

Member of the Board of Directors

Prof. Hubert Law-Yone

Member of the Board of Directors

Prof. Rachel Kallus

Member of the Board of Directors

Prof. Uri Ram

Member of the Board of Directors

Ruti Gur

Member of the Audit Committee

Hedva Isachar

Member of the Audit Committee